When was the last time your team won a national football title?

Georgia has won its first national championship since 1980 by winning 33:18 against Alabama in Monday’s College Football Playoff in 2022.

Quarterback Stetson Bennett threw two TDs in the fourth quarter, and Georgia coach Kirby Smart finally recorded a win against his mentor Nick Saban.

MORE: Bama ranks first in SN’s Way Too Early Top 25

Georgia had one of longer periods of drought between the main FBS powers.

So who’s next? When was your school last winning the National Championship in the era of voting that began in 1936, when the Associated Press awarded Minnesota a national championship? The AFCA National Championship Trophy (1945) and the Grantland Rice Trophy (1954) have also been used to determine national championships in the past.

Here is a closer look at all the national championship teams since then:

  • Georgia defeated Alabama 33:18 in the College Football Playoff Championship 2022. Stetson Bennett threw two TDs in the fourth quarter and the Bulldogs’ top defense allowed only one TD. That gave coach Kirby Smart his first national championship. It broke the 41-year drought, which lasted until the 1980 season with legendary coach Vince Dooley and star runner Herschel Walker.

  • Alabama won its sixth national championship under Nick Saban and the 18th in the program to win 52-24 against the state of Ohio in the national championship match 2021College Football Playoff. Heisman Trophy winner DeVonta Smith led the cast, which included six consensual All-Americans.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow led LSU to the fourth national championship with a convincing 42:25 victory over national champion Clemson in the College Football Playoff championship in New Orleans. Burrow lost to 463 yards and five TDs in victory.

  • Clemson defeated Alabama 44:16 in the 2019 College Football Playoff Championship and became the first team to finish 15-0 since 1897. This gave the Tigers two national championships in three seasons led by Dabo Swinney.

  • Urban Meyer led the Buckeyes to victory in the first game of the College Football National Playoff Championship against Oregon. The Buckeyes have won 42-20 for the first national program title since 2002.

    MORE: Top 10 Ohio State Buckeyes

  • The Seminoles, led by Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston, defeated Auburn in the 34:31 BCS Championship final. Jimbo Fisher gave the program his first national title since 1999.

  • Cam Newton’s incredible season propelled Auburn to the national championship in 2010. Newton led the Tigers to a perfect season and a 22-19 victory against Oregon in the BCS championship game.

    MORE: What if these stars went to other schools?

  • Tim Tebow and Urban Meyer helped lead the Gators to their second national championship in three seasons. The Gators defeated Oklahoma 24-14 in the BCS championship game.

  • Vince Young’s transcendental performance in the 2006 Rose Bowl led the Longhorns to a 41-38 victory against USC. Mack Brown added the national championship to the program with an undefeated season.

  • Coaches Poll and BCS released this national championship, but it still happened on the pitch. USC, led by Heisman Trophy winner Matt Leinart, defeated Oklahoma 55-19. The Trojans also won the AP National Championship in 2003.

  • The Hurricanes enjoyed a 12-0 season and took control of Nebraska 37-14 in the Rose Bowl. It gave the program the fifth national championship since 1983.

  • Oklahoma won the national championship in Bob Stoops’ second season when she defeated Florida State 13-2 in the BCS championship game.

  • Tennessee ushered in the Bowl Championship Series with an undefeated season under Phillip Fulmer. The Volunteers defeated Florida State 23-16 in the Fiesta Bowl and won this national championship.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson and coach Lloyd Carr led the Wolverines to a 12-0 season and a 21-16 victory against Washington State in the Rose Bowl, earning the AP national title.

  • Nebraska earned the division of the 1997 national championship in the last season of Tom Osborn. The Cornhuskers finished 13-0 and defeated Tennessee 42-17 in the Orange Bowl. As a result, Nebraska won the Coaches poll.

  • Washington, led by Steve Emtman and Ugly Defense, won the 1991 Coaches Poll after an undefeated season, winning 34:14 against Michigan in the Rose Bowl. That gave Don James his first national championship.

  • Colorado lost to Illinois at the start of the season, but the Buffaloes bounced back and won the rest of their AP National Championship matches. Colorado beat Notre Dame 10-9 in the Orange Bowl, the game you remember best for the clipping of Raghib Ismail’s return to a last-minute touchdown.

  • Bobby Ross led the Yellow Jackets to the Coaches Poll National Championship in 1990 after the 11-0-1 season, which the Yellow Jackets ended with a 45-21 victory against Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

  • Lou Holtz led the Irish to an undefeated season, winning the Awning 31-30 against Miami (Fla.) In South Bend in the regular season. Notre Dame defeated West Virginia at Fiesta Bowl 34:21 and finished the season 12-0.

    MORE: Alternative history of ND football

  • The Nittany Lions finished 12-0, securing Joe Patern’s second national championship. Penn State ended the season with a 14-10 victory against Miami (Fla.) In the 1987 Fiesta Bowl.

  • The Cougars enjoyed a fantastic season in 1984 under the leadership of LaVell Edwards and Robbie Bosco. BYU is the last school in Group 5 to win the national title, and they managed to win 24-17 against Michigan in the Holiday Bowl.

  • The Panthers, led by Johnny Majors and Tony Dorsett, won the national championship after a 12-0 season, which was a 27-3 win against Georgia in the Sugar Bowl.

  • Michigan State (1965): Coach survey

    Arkansas (1964): FWAA

    Ole Miss (1960): FWAA

    Minnesota (1960)

    Syracuse (1959)

    Iowa (1958):FWAA

    UCLA (1954):coaches

    Maryland (1953)

    Illinois (1951):Boand

    Kentucky (1950):Sagarin

    Army (1945):AP poll

    Oklahoma State (1945):Coach survey

    Stanford (1940):Billingsley

    Boston College (1940):Different

    Texas A&M (1939)

    TCU (1938)

    Cal (1937):Different


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *