Has anyone won Heisman twice? Bryce Young of Alabama went down in 2022

Bryce Young has made history in Alabama this season, which seems difficult given Alabama and everything the program has accomplished. And yet Young, a sophomore from Pasadena, California, became the first Alabama quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy. He also not only won the award, but also ran away with it.

Young won 684 votes in first place, while the next to be voted was Aidan Hutchinson of Michigan with 78.

There’s a good reason Young won the award as cleverly as he did. He threw 4503 yards and 46 touchdowns in just five interceptions, finishing 67.6 percent of his passes this year. But even above the numbers, there were moments – like leading Alabama to win from behind Auburn in the Iron Bowl and a match with three touchdowns, 421 yards against one of the best national defenses in Georgia during the SEC title game.

Young will have a chance to further strengthen his legacy if he leads Crimson Tide to the national title on Monday night as he tries to repeat as champions. But Young, a sophomore, is not eligible for this year’s NFL draft, which means he will return to Tuscaloosa next season with a chance to potentially win the Heisman Trophy for the second year in a row.

Sporting News will focus on whether this performance has ever taken place and on the history that Young can still make on this journey.

MORE: When does Bryce Young qualify for the NFL Draft?

Has anyone ever won the Heisman Trophy twice?

In the 86 years that Heisman has been dealt, only one player has won the prize more than once.

Between 1974 and 1975, Archie Griffin, a former Ohio State runner, won the award and became the first and only player to take Heisman home twice.

In 1974, Griffin rushed 1,695 yards and 12 landings on 256 ships en route to his first Heisman. He defeated several future members of the College Football Hall of Famers, as well as future member of the Pro Football Hall of Famer Randy White.

The following year, he hurried to 1,450 yards and four touchdowns to win the award for the second time and defeat future Professional Hall of Fame members Tony Dorsett and Lee Roy Selmon.

While Griffin’s record remained in place for 46 years, he could soon have the company, as Young is currently +200 favorites to win next year, according to Fox Bet.

MORE: The Sporting News Player of the Year 2021 is Bryce Young of Alabama

Voting results for Heisman Trophy 2021

Complete Player Pos. School Total points 1 2 3
1 Bryce Young QB Alabama 2,311 th most common 684 107 45
2 Aidan Hutchinson DE Michigan 954 78 273 174
3 Kenny Pickett QB Pitt 631 28 175 197
4 CJ Stroud QB State of Ohio 399 12 118 127
5 Will Anderson Jr. LB Alabama 325 31 79 74
6 Kenneth Walker III RB State of Michigan 245 18 53 85
7 Matt Corral QB Ole miss 150 10 32 56
8 Desmond Ridder QB Cincinnati 81 5 15 36
9 Jordan Davis DL Georgia 75 9 15 18
10 Breece Hall RB State of Iowa 17 0 5 7

Alabama Heisman winners

With Young’s victory this year, Alabama won the award in a few years, the first time since 2017-18, when Baker Mayfield and Jalen Hurts won Heisman while representing Oklahoma.

Crimson Tide became only the sixth program in the history of college football to produce Heisman winners in successive years, after Yale (1936-37), Army (1945-46), Ohio State (1974-75), USC (2004-05 ) and Oklahoma (2017-18).

In Alabama, four different players took home one of the biggest honors of college football, starting with runback Mark Ingram in 2009 and most recently Young this year. Alabama is the only school with four winners, while Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma and USC (although Reggie Bush’s was later released) all players have been awarded seven times.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *